Please use this identifier to cite or link to this item:

TitleSingle-phase shunt active power filter based on a 5-level converter topology
Author(s)Pinto, J. G.
Macedo, Rui
Monteiro, Vítor Duarte Fernandes
Barros, Luís
Sousa, Tiago
Afonso, João L.
KeywordsShunt Active Power Filter
digital control
multilevel converter
power quality
p-q theory
Issue date22-Apr-2018
PublisherMultidisciplinary Digital Publishing Institute
Abstract(s)This paper presents a single-phase Shunt Active Power Filter (SAPF) with a multilevel converter based on an asymmetric full-bridge topology capable of producing five distinct voltage levels. The calculation of the SAPF compensation current is based on the Generalized Theory of Instantaneous Reactive Power (<i>p</i>-<i>q</i> theory) modified to work in single-phase installations, complemented by a Phase-Locked Loop algorithm and by a dedicated algorithm to regulate the voltages in the DC-link capacitors. The control of the SAPF uses a closed loop predictive current control, followed by a multilevel Sinusoidal Pulse-Width Modulation technique with two vertical distributed carriers, which were specially conceived to deal with the asymmetric nature of the converter legs. Along the paper, some simulation results are used to show the main characteristics of the 5-level converter and control algorithms, and the hardware topology and control algorithms are described in detail. In order to demonstrate the feasibility and performance of the proposed SAPF based on a 5-level converter, a laboratory prototype was developed and experimental results obtained under diverse conditions of operation, with linear and non-linear loads, are presented and discussed in this paper.
DescriptionJosé Gabriel Oliveira Pinto is the mentor of the idea of using the 5-level asymmetric full-bridge topology as a single-phase shunt active filter, participated in the development of the experimental prototype by designing some of the PCBs, and coordinated the organization and writing of the paper. Rui Macedo is the responsible for the implementation of the simulation model, hardware prototype, obtainment of the simulation results and experimental results, and participated in the writing of the paper. Vitor Monteiro participated in the design of the hardware prototype, sizing of electronic components, design of the predictive current control and writing of the paper. Luis Barros participated in the development of the hardware prototype, obtainment of the experimental results and writing of the paper. Tiago Sousa participated in the hardware prototype development, design of the SPWM modulation technique and writing of the paper. João L. Afonso participated in the design of the control algorithms based on the p-q theory, in the adaptation of the p-q theory to single-phase systems and in the writing of the paper.
AccessOpen access
Appears in Collections:BUM - MDPI

Files in This Item:
File Description SizeFormat 
energies-11-01019.pdf11,07 MBAdobe PDFView/Open

This item is licensed under a Creative Commons License Creative Commons

Partilhe no FacebookPartilhe no TwitterPartilhe no DeliciousPartilhe no LinkedInPartilhe no DiggAdicionar ao Google BookmarksPartilhe no MySpacePartilhe no Orkut
Exporte no formato BibTex mendeley Exporte no formato Endnote Adicione ao seu ORCID